I don’t understand kids

06/19/2010 at 8:43 AM (Life) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

Seriously, I don’t get what all the fuss is about. I don’t get what makes kids so special. When I see babies and kids all I see are dumb, selfish, whiny, expensive, germ factories. I’m baffled by people who get all gushy when they see kids.
I went through a short period of time where I thought I might want kids someday. Looking back I think I was just totally in love with my ex (who loves and wants children), and I really wanted to fuck her without a condom. I follow someone on twitter who’s wife is pregnant. Their baby will be here soon and he constantly tweets about how excited he is. If that were me I would be dreading each new day that brought me one day closer to the birth of my child.
I have a friend who’s married with two kids, he recently took a job that requires him to be away from home quite a bit. He was telling me how much he missed his kids. The first question that popped into my mind was “why?”. If I had kids I would love every minute of being away from them. I just can’t understand what is about kids that everyone loves so much. I kind of feel like a sociopath (minus the hurting animals and people part)¬†when it comes to kids; not feeling the emotions that most normal people do, trying desperately to understand but completely lacking the ability to.
It seems like almost everyone wants kids, for some it’s all they think about. Is this something that’s ingrained inside them, encoded in their DNA when they were conceived? Or could it be outside pressure from society telling them that this is what they want, and that they’re not normal if they don’t?
I see a vasectomy in my near future, because this gargoyle doesn’t want kids and doesn’t want to wear condoms the rest of his life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

